Mogwai reveal KIN plus UK tour calling Liverpool Olympia

0
Mogwai (Credit:Brian Sweeney 2017)

Mogwai (Credit: Brian Sweeney)

Mogwai reveal KIN soundtrack plus UK tour calling Liverpool’s Olympia, Getintothis’ Peter Guy looks ahead to something special.

Mogwai are to release KIN: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack via their Rock Action imprint ahead of a five date UK tour kicking off at the Liverpool Olympia.

They will be supported on tour by Glasgow’s The Twilight Sad, who recently signed to Rock Action. Tickets go on sale Friday July 20 at 10am; full list of dates below.

The album is composed of tracks recorded by the band for the score of the forthcoming sci-fi/crime drama, KIN directed by Jonathan and Josh Baker, starring Jack Reynor, Zoë Kravitz, Carrie Coon, James Franco and Dennis Quaid.

Mogwai have already released their sprawling track Donuts and earlier this week released We’re Not Done (End Title), the final track from their soundtrack.

Of the soundtrack, Mogwai’s Stuart Braithwaite, said: “We were really excited to be asked to record the original score for Jonathan and Josh Baker’s debut movie KIN. It was amazing to do a project that was so different to anything we’ve done before and see how our music fits in a totally different environment to how it’s been used before. The music in the film is some of my favourite Mogwai has ever made and we can’t wait for people to hear it.

Mogwai featured in Getintothis’ picks of Primavera 2018 highlights – read the full review

KIN is Mogwai’s first feature film soundtrack, having previously composed scores for documentaries including Zidane: A 21st Century Portrait, Before the Flood (co-written and performed with Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross, and Gustavo Santaolalla) and Atomic, Living in Dread and Promise.

The band also provided the soundtrack for the acclaimed Canal+ French TV series Les Revenants.

Mogwai tour dates (new dates in bold)

Fri Jul 20 Les Vieilles Charrues Festival, Carhaix, FRANCE
Fri Jul 27 Artmania Festival, Sibiu, ROMANIA
Fri Aug 3 All Together Now Festival, Waterford, IRELAND
Sat Aug 18 Pstereo, Trondheim, NORWAY
Wed 22 Aug EIF-Leith Theatre, Edinburgh, UK
Thu 23 Aug EIF-Leith Theatre, Edinburgh, UK
Sat 22 Sept True North Festival, His Majesty’s Theatre, Aberdeen, UK
Thu 22 Nov Liverpool Olympia, Liverpool, UK
Fri 23 Nov The Mill, Birmingham, UK
Sat 24 Nov O2 Academy Leeds, Leeds, UK
Sun 25 Nov Brighton Dome, Brighton, UK
Mon 26 Nov St David’s Hall, Cardiff

(Visited 236 times, 9 visits today)

Comments

comments

Share.

Leave a Reply