Wire announce new album, single and Manchester UK date for 2020



Wire have released details of a new album and a UK tour which includes a Manchester date, Getintothis’ Simon Kirk has the details.

Post-punk luminaries, Wire, have announced details of a new album along with a UK tour including a Manchester date.

Mind Hive will be released on January 24, 2020, via their own Pinkflag label, and follows on from their 2017 long player, Silver/Lead.

In support of Mind Hive, the band hit the road shortly after, which includes a performance at Manchester’s Band on the Wall on Tuesday, January 28, 2020.

Wire have released the first single from Mind Hive, Cactused, which you can listen to below.

With a consistent line-up now featuring original members Colin Newman (vocal/guitar), Graham Lewis (bass), Robert Grey (drums) and newest member, Matthew Simms (guitar), who joined the band in 2011, Wire have been on a superb run of form ever since.

From the release of the brilliant Object 47 in 2008, the band has gone on to release another five albums. Among their finest includes 2010’s Red Barked Tree, 2015’s self-titled album and Silver/Lead.

Erland Cooper set to play first UK headline tour and watch new video

Mind Hive is said to include more pop elements whilst also capturing psychedelic elements reminiscent of early Pink Floyd.

Then there’s Newman‘s lyrics that often seem to blindside listeners. The most bizarre out of them all is said to come from the track, Oklahoma, opening up with lyrics of “I love your sexy hearse”.

Okay …

Wire -Mind Hive

Mind Hive track list:

    1. Be Like Them
    2. Cactused
    3. Primed and Ready
    4. Off the Beach
    5. Unrepentant
    6. Shadows
    7. Oklahoma
    8. Hung
    9. Humming

Wire UK tour dates:

  • Monday, January 27: The Fleece, Bristol
  • Tuesday, January 28: Band on the Wall, Manchester
  • Wednesday, January 29: Hare & Hounds, Birmingham
  • Thursday, January 30: G2 (The Garage), Glasgow
  • Friday, January 31: Brudenell Social Club, Leeds




Leave a Reply