AIM Independent Music Award 2015 Nominees revealed


The nominees for the AIM Independent Music Awards 2015 have been announced.

AIM Independent Music Awards 2015 have revealed this year’s nominees, including Getintothis editor Peter Guy for the Indie Champion Award.

Nominees for the 5th Annual AIM Independent Music Awards have been revealed at an exclusive launch at House of Vans London, where our very own Peter Guy has earned a place on the Indie Champion shortlist. Also included on the list are BBC 6Music’s Camilla Pia and Marc Riley, The Drift Record Shop’s Rupert Morrison and The Charlatans frontman and O Genesis boss Tim Burgess.

The full list of nominees which you can find below highlight the diversity and creative talent of independent music in 2015, with a total of 43 artists in the running for 9 artist awards. Leading the pack with three nominations each are Young Fathers, Courtney Barnett, FKA twigs and Alt-J. While Bjork, Jme, Wolf Alice and Ghostpoet all receive two nods.

The coveted Independent Label Of The Year award will be contested by Epitaph Records, Erased Tapes Records, Liverpool stronghold Heavenly Records, Planet Mu Records and Transgressive Records. Following in their footsteps, BASICK Records, High Focus Records and Rocket Girl will battle it out for the Best Small Label award along with Erased Tapes Records and Planet Mu Records, who greedily find themselves nominated in both label categories this year.

Once again, the nominations honour the full spectrum of independent music in 2015, as nominees for Best ‘Difficult’ Second Album including Alabama Shakes, Holly Herndon, Nadine Shah, The 2 Bears and Young Fathers stand side-by-side with those nominated for the Independent Breakthrough of The Year, Courtney Barnett, FKA twigs, Run The Jewels, Songhoy Blues and Wolf Alice.

The full list of nominees is below, with the winners revealed at the ceremony hosted by XFM’s long term champion of new music John Kennedy and Radio 1’s Alice Levine at The Brewery in Clerkenwell on September 8. Tickets are sold out, but if you fancy the after party, a limited number of tickets are available here.

Independent labels have a well deserved reputation for caring about their artists and this year AIM will also be partnering with Help Musicians UK as the first official awards charity. AIM and Help Musicians will be raising funds for the important work the charity does supporting musicians at every stage of their career – from emerging professionals needing help with their career, to established musicians who’ve hit a crisis, long-term illness or are reaching retirement.

The full list of nominees is:

Best Small Label (in association with Disc Manufacturing Services)
Basick Records
Erased Tapes Records
High Focus Records
Planet Mu Records
Rocket Girl

Best Difficult Second Album (in association with XFM)
Alabama Shakes – Sound & Color
Holly Herndon – Platform
Nadine Shah – Fast Food
The 2 Bears – The Night is Young
Young Fathers – White Men Are Black Men Too

Special Catalogue Release of the Year (in association with Amazon Music)
Cities of Darkscorch Boardgame
Frankie Goes To Hollywood – Inside the Pleasuredome
Bjork – Coloured Vinyl Catalogue Reissue
The Pretty Things – Bouquets From a Cloudy Sky
Imogen Heap – Sparks (Deluxe Boxset)
Oasis (What’s The Story) Morning Glory? Reissue

Hardest Working Band or Artist
Courtney Barnett
Little Comets
Young Fathers

Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival (in association with AIF, voted for by readers of DIY)
Barn On The Farm
Brainchild Festival
Pete The Monkey
Truck Festival

Independent Breakthrough of the Year
Courtney Barnett
FKA twigs
Run The Jewels
Songhoy Blues
Wolf Alice

Indie Champion (in association with CI)
Camilla Pia, BBC 6Music
Marc Riley, BBC 6Music
Peter Guy, Getintothis
Rupert Morrison, The Drift Record Shop
Tim Burgess, Songwriter & O Genesis Music Ltd

Independent Video of the Year (in association with Vevo)
Alt-J – Hunger Of The Pine
Flying Lotus – Never Catch Me
Ghostpoet – Sorry My Love, It’s You Not Me
Ibeyi – River
Son Lux – Change Is Everything

Best Live Act (in association with Jack Daniel’s, voted for by visitors to Songkick)
All Time Low
To Kill a King
Twin Atlantic

Independent Track of the Year (in association with Spotify)
Alt-J – Every Other Freckle
Courtney Barnett – Pedestrian at Best
FKA twigs – Two Weeks
Jamie XX – Loud Places
LA Priest – Oino
Major Lazer – Lean On
Mogwai – Teenage Exorcists
Neck Deep – Can’t Kick Up The Roots
Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Multi-Love
Wiley – On A Level

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Act
FKA twigs
Ward Thomas

Independent Album of the Year (in association with dotFans)
Bjork – Vulnicura
Enter Shikari – The Mindsweep
Father John Misty – I Love You, Honeybear
Ghostpoet – Shedding Skin
Jme – Integrity>
The Bug – Angels & Devils
The Charlatans – Modern Nature
The Xcerts – There Is Only You
Wolf Alice – My Love Is Cool
Young Fathers – White Men Are Black Men Too

Independent Label of the Year (in association with Believe Digital)
Epitaph Records
Erased Tapes Records
Heavenly Recordings
Planet Mu Records
Transgressive Records

Pioneer Award (in association with The Orchard)
Digby Pearson, Earache Records

Innovator Award (in association with Promostream)
Peter Quicke, Matt Black and Jonathan More of Ninja Tune

Outstanding Contribution to Music (in association with Merlin)