New album releases out today: Poliça, Destroyer, TORRES, Drive-By Truckers


The Weekly 7 – new album releases out today including TORRES, Polica and more

The end of January arrives with a slew of great albums and Getintothis’ Simon Kirk has the details on today’s latest releases.

Happy Friday. After our inaugural Weekly Seven last week, we’re glad you came back for more.

Because there’s plenty more. Music, the gift that keeps on giving… and today it’s a big one for new releases.

Initially, this feature was only set to feature five albums per week, but we thought that may have been a bit too light, given so much new music is released every seven days. So, rest assured, from now on you’ll be getting a full seven new albums featured every week.

Yes, we are just a little bit excited.

After all, any time a Drive-By Truckers album gets released is a cause for celebration. Destroyer, too for that matter.

On the North-Western front, Blossoms have a new album out. Details are below.

Right, so we won’t keep you waiting. We know you’re itching to listen to some new music so feast your eyes on today’s new LPs.

Did we say ‘Happy Friday’?

Flaming Lips Liverpool Invisible Wind Factory date revealed as part of UK tour


1. Destroyer: Have We Met
Dead Oceans

The prince of pessimism, Dan Bejar, releases his thirteenth studio album under the brilliant Destroyer moniker.

Titled Have We Met, the album follows 2016’s Ken. Bejar will be touring later in the year. All the details are here.

TORRES (photo credit: Ashley Connor)

2. TORRES: Silver Tongue
Merge Records

TORRES, the recording alias of Mackenzie Scott releases her fourth album, Silver Tongue.

It will be TORRES‘ first album with her new label, Merge Records. Scott will be touring in March, including a show at Manchester’s YES.

Isobel Campbell (Credit: Ashley Osbourn)

3. Isobel CampbellThis Is No Other
Cooking Vinyl

Belle & Sebastian founding member Isobel Campbell returns with her fifth solo album, There Is No Other.

The record will be her first solo effort since 2006’s Milkwhite Sheets, and first album of any kind since her most recent Mark Lanegan collaboration, 2010’s Hawk.

Campbell will play the Liverpool Philharmonic on Monday in support of There Is No Other.

Foals, Stereophonics, Supergrass and Primal Scream to headline Kendal Calling 2020

POLICA, image by Zoe Prinds Flash

4. Poliça: When We Stay Alive
Memphis Industries

Minneapolis five-piece, Poliça, return with their much anticipated fourth album, When We Stay Alive.

Following the album’s release, the band will tour the UK including a show in Manchester. All the details can be found here.

Eyelids (photo credit: via the artist’s Facebook page)

5. Eyelids: Accidental Falls
Jealous Butcher Records

Featuring current and former members of Decemberists, Guided By Voices and Stephen Malkmus and the Jicks, Eyelids release their brand new album, Accidental Falls – the band’s third long-player.

If you like your jangle-rock then you’ve come to the right place. The first gem of 2020 has been found, folks.

Drive-By Truckers (photo credit: via the artist’s Facebook page)

6. Drive-By Truckers: The Unraveling
ATO Records

Drive-By Truckers return with their 12th studio album, The Unraveling, which was recorded at Sam Phillips Recording Service in Memphis with Matt Ross-Spang (Jason Isbell, Margo Price).

It’s the band’s first LP in more than three years – the longest gap between Drive-By Truckers albums.


7. Blossoms: Foolish Loving Spaces
Virgin EMI records

Stockport collective Blossoms return with their third album, Foolish Loving Spaces.

Recorded with James Skelly at Parr Street Studios, a big year is ahead for the rising band who will embark on a UK tour on the back of the album.


Other notable releases this week:

  • Ben Watt: Storm Damage (Caroline International)
  • hackedepicciotto (feat. Alexander Hacke of Einsturzende Neubauten): The Current (Aural Aggravation)
  • Freddie Gibbs & Madlib: Bandana Beats (RCA)
  • Squarepusher: Be Up A Hello (Warp)
  • SQÜRL (Jim Jarmusch & Carter Logan): Some Music For Robby Müller (Sacred Bones)
  • Dan Deacon: Mystic Familiar (Domino)
  • Dune Rats: Hurry Up and Wait (BMG)
  • Frances Quinlan (of Hop Along): Likewise (Saddle Creek)
  • Gengahr: Sanctuary (Liberator Music)
  • Kesha: High Road (RCA)
  • Smoke Fairies: Darkness Brings the Wonders Home (Year Seven Records)
  • Son Little: aloha (ANTI-)
  • Spencer Brown: Stream of Consciousness (Anjunabeats)
  • Loving: If I Am Only My Thoughts (Last Gang Records)
  • Moon Reverie: Moon Reverie (Rockshot Records)




Leave a Reply