Destroyer announces new album – watch the video for lead single, Crimson Tide



Destroyer announces details of a new album set for release in January 2020 and Getintothis’ Simon Kirk has the details.

Dan Bejar has announced details of thirteenth studio album under his brilliant Destroyer moniker.

Titled Have We Met, the album will be released via Dead Oceans on January 31, 2020.

Have We Met is the follow-up to Destoyer‘s 2016 album, Ken. You can read our review of Ken album here.

Crimson Tide is the first single from Have We Met, which was released last week and you can watch the video for the track, which was directed by David Galloway.

Speaking on the song’s video, director David Galloway said:

“This is a music video about a movie, or for a movie, or really just with a movie. The point is: they love each other. With Crimson Tide, Destroyer introduces listeners to yet another version of the Bejar Enigma, and ushers viewers to seats in an alternate cinematic universe. The dramatic music video that ties in to film is a lost art. Or maybe it’s just a vulgar one. Either way, there are no rotten tomatoes here, only rotten apples.”

Talking of Have We Met, Bejar confirms that the album “came together in such a crazy way – all equal parts ecstasy and terror”.

Initially culled from years’ worth of saved writing (the album was initially conceived as a Y2K album), Have We Met was recorded at Bejar‘s kitchen table.

Wolf Parade return with new single and tour dates – listen to Against the Day

Sonically, it is said to take us back to Kaputt-era (Bejar‘s 2011 career-defining album) with the former New Pornographers man stringing together lyrics off-hand while lying on his couch, not dissimilar to his methods used during the making of Kaputt.

Destroyer‘s band-orientated approach was shelved and frequent collaborator John Collins was tasked with the role of layering synth and rhythm sections over Bejar‘s lounge-chair musings.

Speaking on the recording process, Bejar said:

“The record could have gone on and on, and the mixes kept evolving up until about a day before we sent them off to be mastered, which was also 48 hours before John and his wife went to the birthing centre, where their first child was born; our true deadline!”

In addition to this news, Bejar has announced a headline show at London’s Village Underground on Tuesday May 5.

Further UK dates are expected to be announced in the near future.

Destroyer – Have We Met

Have We Met tracklist:

  1. Crimson Tide
  2. Kinda Dark
  3. It Just Doesn’t Happen
  4. The Television Music Supervisor
  5. The Raven
  6. Cue Synthesizer
  7. University Hill
  8. Have We Met
  9. The Man In Black’s Blues
  10. foolssong





Leave a Reply