New album releases out today: Shopping, Envy, Makaya McCraven and more


The Weekly 7 – new album releases out today including Envy, Shopping and more

More new album releases arrive today and Getintothis’ Simon Kirk takes us through his top picks of the week.

Good morning and happy Friday to you all.

My word, we’re not sure about you but we are still catching our breath from last week’s slew of fine releases. To be honest, this writer is still yet to listen to some of them (Isobel Campbell for one).

This is mainly due to getting blown away by Destroyer ‘s new album, Have We Met – I’m sure there are many of you out there that have experienced the same.

Speaking of catching up, visit our latest Albums Club if you haven’t done so already. Some cracking releases in there, not least from Alex Chilltown.

Anyway, onto current matters and there’s more goodness being produced this week. On that note, we’ll leave you to rummage through the pile.

Here are our picks from this week’s new releases.

Enjoy your weekend.

Top 10 podcasts you should be listening to right now – featuring Song Exploder, Dissect and Switched on Pop


1. Shopping: All Or Nothing
FatCat Records

London/Glasgow based post-punks Shopping return with their follow-up to 2018’s The Official Body with All or Nothing.

The album is said to be inspired by the erosion of privacy courtesy of the digital age. Should be interesting, this. We’re pumped.

Envy (photo credit: artist’s Facebook page)

2. Envy: The Fallen Crimson
Temporary Residence/Pelagic

After a five year absence and a slew of personnel changes, Japan’s Envy return with The Fallen Crimson.

Post-hardcore fans rejoice. The Fallen Crimson may just be worth the wait and from this writer’s point of view, it’s the highlight of today’s releases.

Arbour Labor Union (photo credit: via artist’s Facebook page)

3. Arbor Labor Union: New Petal Instants

Atlanta Georgia’s Arbor Labor Union return with their first album since 2016’s I Hear You, which was released via Sub Pop.

Not familiar? If you like a bit of heartland indie-rock with a nice mix of post-hardcore then you’ve just hit the jackpot. You’ve been told.

Sound City 2020 adds headliners Friendly Fires plus Marika Hackman, The Snuts, Louis Berry and more

Leon Bridges

4. Khruangbin & Leon Bridges: Texas Sun EP
Dead Oceans

Now, most would say that EPs are off limits around these parts, but it’s a new release so it’s past the gatekeeper.

Plus, it’s not every day Texas experimentalists, Khruangbin and Leon Bridges get in the studio and release new music together.

Makaya McCraven

5. Makaya McCraven: We’re New Again: A Reimagining of Gil Scott-Heron

Chicago-based jazz artist, Makaya McCraven releases a reimagining of Gil Scott-Heron’s 2010 album I’m Here.

Knowing McCraven‘s capabilities, there are bound to be radical shifts from the original tracks. We’re pretty excited by this.

Max Cavalera (photo credit: Will Tudor)

6. Sepultura: Quadra
Nuclear Blast

The Brazilian metal veterans return with their 15th studio album, Quadra – a concept album based on numerology, the number four and its significance as depicted in the book Quadrivium.

To get you in the mood, read our interview with Sepultura’s Max Cavalera.

Human Potential (photo credit – Andrew-Becker)

7. Human Potential: I’m Glad You’re Alive
What Delicate Recordings

Human Potential is solo project of Andrew Becker – the former drummer for Dischord Records’, Medications and also formerly of Screens.

Bit of a left field addition here, but that’s what it’s all about. Time to discover something new, folks.

La Roux

This week’s other notable releases:

  • Arborist: A Northern View (Rollercoaster Records)
  • Cheerleader: Almost Forever (Bright Antenna)
  • Church Girls: The Haunt (Anchor Eight Four Records)
  • La Roux: Supervision (Supercolour)
  • Jozef van Wissem: Ex Mortis (incunabulum)
  • Sunda Arc: Tides (Gondwana Records)
  • Ill Japonia (of Bo Ningnen): Ill (Fujipacific Music)
  • DELAIN: Apocalypse & Chill (Napalm Records)
  • Inger Nordvik: Time (Asta Records)
  • Fat Tony: Wake Up (Carpark Records)
  • Hamerkop: Remote (Drag City)
  • The Homesick: The Big Exercise (Sub Pop)
  • Nicolas Jaar: Against All Logic – 2017-2019 (Other People)
  • Elkhorn: The Storm Session (Beyond Beyond is Beyond)
  • Green Day: Father of All Motherfuckers (Reprise)
  • HMLTD: West of Eden (Lucky Number)
  • Darling West: We’ll Never Know Unless We Try (Jansen Records)
  • Frazey Ford: U kin B the Sun (Arts & Crafts)
  • Steve Spacek: Houses (Blank Focus)
  • Nada Surf: Never Not Together (City Slang)
  • Supersuckers: Play That Rock -N- Roll (Acetate Records)





Leave a Reply