Phoebe Bridgers announces new album and single


Phoebe Bridgers

Phoebe Bridgers has announced details of her highly-anticipated second solo album, alongside a new single and music video and Getintothis’  Mia Hind has the details. 

Punisher – Phoebe Bridgers’ follow up to 2017’s Stranger in the Alps – is set to be released on June 19th 2020.

The album features the previously-released track Garden Song and her new single, Kyoto.

Kyoto was written after Bridgers‘ first trip to Japan in February 2019.

She says the track is about imposter syndrome and “about being in Japan for the first time, somewhere I’ve always wanted to go, and playing my music to people who want to hear it, feeling like I’m living someone else’s life. I dissociate when bad things happen to me, but also when good things happen.”

The video for Kyoto features Bridgers and her bandmates green-screened in front of various landscapes of Japan and even sees her fend off Godzilla.

This is in stark contrast to her original plan of filming in Kyoto in March, before the trip was cancelled due to the Coronavirus outbreak.

Bridgers has been busy since her 2017 debut. In 2018, she teamed up with Julien Baker and Lucy Dacus for 2018’s boygenius EP. In 2019 she collaborated with Bright Eyes’ Conor Oberst under the Better Oblivion Community Center moniker.

This upcoming release sees Bridgers team up with Baker, Dacus and Oberst once again in tracks Graceland Too, I Know The End and Halloween.

Radiohead to stream past shows during COVID-19 lockdown

Punisher is out on June 19th available to pre-order via Dead Oceans. Kyoto is available to stream now.

The tracklisting for Punisher is below:

01. DVD Menu
02. Garden Song
03. Kyoto
04. Punisher
05. Halloween
06. Chinese Satellite
07. Moon Song
08. Savior Complex
09. ICU
10. Graceland Too
11. I Know The End





Leave a Reply