New Order, Anna Calvi and more come together for Alzheimer’s charity album


Anna Calvi – photo by Warren Millar

Mon Amie Records releases a compilation album of new material by Anna Calvi, Algiers, Daniel Avery and more, Getintothis’ Jason Simon on a worthy cause for Alzheimer’s Association.

As part of The Longest Day, the Alzheimer’s Association‘s yearly fundraiser, Mon Amie Records has released a benefit album on CD, vinyl, and digital with 100% of profits going to the organisation.

It features previously unreleased material from Anna CalviMobyAlgiers, Daniel AverySad13 and lots more.

It is also the first time the extended mix of New Order‘s Nothing But A Fool will be released on vinyl.

Hayden Thorpe and Jon Hopkins‘ haunting cover of Goodbye Horses was originally released in 2013 but has been unavailable for over five years.

The album was released on June 19 with vinyl out in September.

The album artwork features photographs by acclaimed photographer Ebru Yildiz, who documented her mother’s journey with Alzheimer’s.

Not only is the album a great showcase for a wide variety of artists, its proceeds will help to combat one of the most afflicting diseases in the country.

The album is an especially important and personal release for Mona Dehghan who’s behind the one-woman operation Mon Amie Records based in Brooklyn, NY.

Mona’s father was diagnosed with dementia in February of 2019 and her grandmother died from disease in 1998.

Supersonic Festival 2020 reveals Richard Dawson, Algiers, Blanck Mass, Mica Levi, GNOD in first wave of artists

Every 65 seconds, someone in the US develops Alzheimer’s or a form of dementia. Currently, 1 in 4 people will develop the disease and this rate is increasing alarmingly.

It is currently the sixth leading cause of death in the US and the #1 cause of death in the UK.

The disease also heavily affects carers through physical and emotional stress.

The toll is so severe that they are reported to die at a 63% higher rate than people the same age who aren’t caring for someone with dementia.

The compilation is now available for pre-order. Those who order a physical format will have the option to include a name of a loved one affected by dementia in the sleeve notes.

The tracklist is:

Anna Calvi – Adélaïde
Rituals of Mine – The Only Way Out Is Through
Daniel Avery – JXJ
Cold Specks – Turn To Stone
TR/ST – Destroyer
Shadowparty – Marigold
Beach Slang – Under the Milky Way
New Order – Nothing But A Fool (Extended Mix 2)
HAAi – Drumting
J Laser – Dreamphone
Sad13 – Who Goes There
Algiers – There Is No Year (Remix)
Astronauts, Etc. – The Border
Wolfmanhattan Project – Friday the 13th
Hayden Thorpe & Jon Hopkins – Goodbye Horses
Moby – In Between Violence
Rhys Chatham – For Bob – In Memory (2014) for flute orchestra.

To pre-order a copy and help out a good cause, follow this link.