Patti Smith and Soundwalk Collective announce new collaborative album


Patti Smith

Patti Smith and Soundwalk Collective announce the release of new album Peradam and Getintothis’ Banjo has the details.

Soundwalk Collective and Patti Smith release a new album, Peradam, via Bella Union on September 4.

Peradam is inspired by René Daumal’s early 1940s novel Mount Analogue: a Novel of Symbolically Authentic Non-Euclidean Adventures in Mountain Climbing, in which the French writer, critic and poet mapped a metaphysical journey to “the ultimate symbolic mountain” in search of meaning.

The album is the third in a triptych for Soundwalk Collective, with volumes one and two looking into Antonin Artaud (The Peyote Dance) and Arthur Rimbaud (Mummer Love).

Other guests on Peradam include Anoushka Shankar, Tenzin Choegal and Charlotte Gainsbourg.

Smith says of the album “It’s just attempting to create a breathing body of work that keeps growing as you do it; it’s alive. You can’t just do it because you say you’re going to.

People can go out to Central Park and record the wind, but we have wind from the top of sacred mountains, we have the sound of stones from the most dangerous parts of the Copper Canyon in Mexico.

We are not trying to make a living, we are not trying to have physical gold in our hands – it’s a different type of gold, it’s metaphysical gold,”

Patti Smith’s Horses at 40: The voice of a generation

Peradam trackilist:

  1. Nanda Devi
  2. Peradam (featuring Tenzin Choegyal)
  3. Knowledge Of The Self (featuring Anoushka Shankar)
  4. Dawn in Rishikesh
  5. Spiritual Death (featuring Tenzin Choegyal)
  6. The Four Cardinal Times (featuring Charlotte Gainsbourg)
  7. Hymn To The Liquid
  8. Vera
  9. The Rat (featuring Tenzin Choegyal)