Bon Iver announce new album and watch two new tracks


Bon Iver (Credit: Artists Facebook page)

Bon Iver are back with a new album and Getintothis’ Rick Leach has the details of a much welcome return.

Bon Iver have announced that they will release a new album – i,i – next month, putting out two tracks from it at the same time.

i,i is the long-awaited follow up to highly acclaimed 2016’s 22, A Million: a record which saw a more than a bit of a sea-change for the band, moving from the gentle folk of their 2016 debut For Emma, Forever Ago to something that was more radical yet in many ways more direct.

We rightly rated 22, A Million as one of our Top Ten Albums of 2016, and marvelled at the seamless marriage of glitchy electronica with studio trickery shown on the record while it still maintained a distinct personal and human element that seemed to speak directly to the listener.

The only question we raised was where would Bon Iver go next? What would they do with their fourth album?

And now with two tracks from i,i to savour we have a bit of a clue.

“It feels very much like the most adult record, the most complete”, says band leader Justin Vernon. “It feels like when you get through all this life, when the sun starts to set, and what happens is you start gaining perspective. And then you can put that perspective into more honest, generous work”.

“The title of the record can mean whatever it means to you or me”, he adds. “It can mean deciphering and bolstering one’s identity. It can be how important the self is and how unimportant the self is, how we’re all connected”.

Bon Iver’s I,I

i.i tracklist:
01. Yi
02. iMi
03. We
04. Holyfields,
05. Hey, Ma
06. U (Man Like)
07. Naeem
08. Jelmore
09. Faith
10. Marion
11. Salem
12. Sh’Diah
13. RABi

Getintothis’ Albums Club: the best long player picks carefully selected every month

You can watch the videos for the new songs, Jelmore and Faith here:

  • i,i by Bon Iver is released on August 30.




Leave a Reply