Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds’ Ghosteen available from Thursday


Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds Ghosteen

Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds’ new album, Ghosteen, is due for release this week and Getintothis’ Simon Kirk has more emerging details.

Further to our news item last week, more details have emerged regarding Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds‘ surprise new album, Ghosteen, which is set for release later this week.

Ghosteen is the seventeenth studio album from the Bad Seeds and follows the 2016 masterpiece, Skeleton Tree.

Ghosteen will be released via Ghosteen Ltd and as reported last Monday afternoon, is two part album (again, track list below).

The album was recorded in 2018 and early 2019 at Woodshed in Malibu, Nightbird in Los Angeles, Retreat in Brighton and Candybomber in Berlin.

It was mixed by Nick Cave, long time collaborator, Warren Ellis, Lance Powell and Andrew Dominik at Conway in Los Angeles.

Along with Cave, the current Bad Seeds line-up includes Warren Ellis (synthesizer, loops, flute, violin, piano, backing vocals), Thomas Wydler (drums), Martyn Casey (bass), Jim Sclavunos (vibraphone, percussion) and George Vjestica, who joined the band full time after the Push the Sky Away album, which he appeared on as a guest musician.

One Dove’s Morning Dove White: A Lost Treasure

Ghosteen will premiere in full on YouTube at 10pm on Thursday October 3, as well as listening events which will take places throughout the world. Information on that can be found here.

Ghosteen will be released globally across all digital platforms on Friday October 4 with physical releases on vinyl and CD on Friday November 8.

Nick Cave (image by Matt Thorne)

Ghosteen tracklist:

Part 1:

  1. The Spinning Song
  2. Bright Horses
  3. Waiting For You
  4. Night Raid
  5. Sun Forest
  6. Galleon Ship
  7. Ghosteen Speaks
  8. Leviathan

Part 2:

  1. Ghosteen
  2. Fireflies
  3. Hollywood




Leave a Reply