Yves Tumor announces new album Heaven To a Tortured Mind and drops wild new music video


Yves Tumor

After a short two-year break, Yves Tumor is back with a new album announcement along with lead single and music video drop, Getintothis’ Kris Roberts takes a look. 

It’s a busy week for Yves Tumor fans.

Not only do we have a new album announcement, but a new single, an accompanying music video, and the latest on his world tour, too.

The experimental artist’s last project, Safe In the Hands of Love, was a boundless and bouncing record that gained him much acclaim for his rule-breaking and hypnotic music style.

After a two-year break, he’s back with his latest project, Heaven To a Tortured Mind, which has been set for an April 3 release.

Teasing the project is his latest single, Gospel For a New Century, with a music video that is just as wonderfully odd and boundary-breaking as his music.

Adorned in a devilish ‘fit with a group of backing dancers dressed as… cows? The video, directed by Isamaya Ffrench, balances somewhere between delightfully amusing and disturbingly strange.

The latest project has been written and composed by Yves and produced by previous collaborator Justin Raisen (Charli XCX, Sky Ferreira), and with 12 tracks in total, this will be his longest play to date.

With his last album scoring an impressive 9.1 on Pitchfork, Heaven To a Tortured Mind has a lot to live up to, and Yves promises a record even thunderous and ground-breaking than ever.

Alongside the forthcoming album and new single, Yves Tumor previously announced his YVES TUMOR & ITS BAND 2020 headline tour, kicking off in North America in March and making its way over to London’s Electric Brixton for their only UK date on May 20.

Being release on WARP, Heaven To a Tortured Mind can be pre-ordered here, and tickets for his London gig can be purchased here.

Erland Cooper interview: “The skill is knowing what to leave out”

Yves Tumor – Gospel For a New Century

Heaven To a Tortured Mind Tracklist:
1. Gospel For a New Century
2. Medicine Burn
3. Identity Trade
4. Kerosene!
5. Hasdallen Lights
6. Romanticist
7. Dream Palette
8. Super Stars
9. Folie Imposee
10. Strawberry Privilege 
11. Asteroid Blues
12. A Greater Love

UK and EU tour Dates:
May 19 – Whelan’s, Dublin
May 20 – Electric Brixton, London
May 21 – Villette Sonique Festival, Paris
May 23 – Paradiso Noord, Amsterdam
May 24 – Vega, Copenhagen
May 26 – Gretchen, Berlin
May 27 – Hydrozagadka, Warsaw
May 30 – Balzaal Vooruit, Gent
July 10 – Pohoda Festival, Trencin
July 11 – Bilbao BBK Live, Bilbao
July 17 – Dour Festival, Dour