New album releases this week: Daniel Avery and Alessandro Cortini, Hilary Woods, Fotocrime and much more


Another week ends with a raft of fine new album releases hitting the shelves and Getintothis’ Simon Kirk selects the best of them.

Artists making albums. A lot of albums. Artists being together. For a lot of years.

How do they do it?

Listening to Lanterns On The Lake‘s brand new album, Spook the Herd, and it got us thinking – how does a band like this continuously churn out quality tunes yet receive so little plaudits?

Do they get to a point where they say “fuck this, we’re done?”

Of course, any artist will tell you that this is not what it’s about. That’s fine. But still – as a listener – it pains us to see bands plying their trade with great effect yet receive the dues and kudos they truly deserve. The Newcastle collective are a perfect example of this.

If you haven’t yet heard Spook the Herd, we very much advise you to drop everything do so. It’s a cracking listen and perhaps their finest yet.

Onto this week and, well, it speaks for itself. Have a gander at what we think are the go-tos this week. For this writer, it’s definitely the Fotocrime LP. Having seen him support Crippled Black Phoenix last year, it was one of the great finds of 2019.

If that doesn’t float your boat then there’s plenty of other new releases to choose from. Enjoy whatever it is that finds its way into your world.

Happy Friday.

Sex Swing break silence with album and tour

Daniel Avery & Alessandro Cortini (photo credit: via artist’s Facebook page)

1. Daniel Avery & Alessandro Cortini: Illusion of Time
Mute Records

Daniel Avery and Nine Inch NailsAlessandro Cortini release their debut long-player, Illusion of Time.

The collaboration was born after the pair met when Avery was on tour in the United States with NIN. Feature album of the week right here.

Hilary Woods

2. Hilary Woods: Birthmarks
Sacred Bones

Former JJ72 member Hilary Woods returns with her second album on Sacred Bones, Birthmarks.

Woods‘ 2018 offering, Colt received warm plaudits and we’re expecting the same here with her sophomore effort.

Fotocrime (photo credit: via artist’s Facebook page)

3. Fotocrime: South of Heaven
Profound Lore Records

Former Coliseum frontman, Ryan Patterson, returns with his second full-length album under his Fotocrime moniker.

South of Heaven was recorded at Electrical Audio Studios with Steve Albini and if it’s anything like his 2018 debut, Principle of Pain, then we are in for some treat here. Darkwave/noir fans. You’ve been told.

Deap Lips (photo credit: via artist’s Facebook page)

4. Deap Lips: Deap Lips
Cooking Vinyl Ltd.

A collaboration between Deap Vally and The Flaming Lips, Deap Lips release their eponymous debut album.

The line-up consists of Wayne Coyne, Lindsey Troy, Steven Drozd and Julie Edwards. Some sludge rock psychedelia served on a silver platter, so we’ve been told.

Kelly Lee Owens new album, Bunnymen and OMD to play Wirral festival, The Florrie launch Food Union

Code Orange (photo credit: via artist’s Facebook page)

5. Code Orange: Underneath
Roadrunner Records

If you were ever wondering what the sound of human debris sounds like, then hold an ear to Code Orange.

Following up their much acclaimed 2017 album, Forever, Underneath is set for more of the dark vortex treatment Code Orange specialise in. One for all you riff fiends out there.

Human Impact (Photo credit: Jammi York)

6. Human Impact: Human Impact
Ipecac Records

Supergroup alert (it’s a filthy word, but not in this instance). Meet Human Impact, the newly established outfit featuring Chris Spencer (Unsane), Jim Coleman (Cop Shoot Cop), Chris Pravdica (Swans) and Phil Puleo (Cop Shoot Cop/Swans).

Their eponymous debut drops on the great Ipecac Records who, let’s face it, don’t deal in mediocrity. So with that, we say just enjoy the intensity.

Ultraísta (photo credit: via artist’s Facebook page)

7. Ultraísta: Sister
Partisan Records

Formed in 2008, Ultraísta (Laura Bettinson, Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich and Joey Waronker) return with their sophomore album, Sister, following up from their 2012 self-titled debut.

Speaking of Sister, Godrich said, “With the first record, we weren’t focused on making it overly musical, we were building off grooves, pulling influences from Dadaism, and trying to make some sort of modernist manifesto. This time, we wanted to make a record that was more than just an art piece.”

Blanck Mass

This week’s other notable releases:

  • Shabaka & The Ancestors: We Were Sent Here By History (Impulse! Records)
  • Porridge Radio: Every Bad (Secretly Canadian)
  • Joyfultalk: A Separation Of Being (Constellation)
  • Sam Doores: Sam Doores (New West Records)
  • The Wants: Container (Council Records)
  • Sam Gendel: Satin Doll (Nonesuch Records Inc.)
  • The Snuts: Mixtape EP (Paralaphone)
  • Jordan Mackampa: Foreigner (Jordan Mackampa Records)
  • Acid Tongue: Bullies (Freakout Records)
  • Blanck Mass: Calm With HorsesOriginal Score (Invada Records)
  • The Boomtown Rats: Citizens of Boomtown (BMG)
  • Bone Church: Acid Communion (Rippled Music)
  • Circa Waves: Sad Happy (Prolifica)
  • Circles Around the Sun: Circles Around the Sun (Rhino Entertainment)
  • The Districts: You Know I’m Not Going Anywhere (Fat Possum Records)
  • The Garden: Kiss My Super Bowl Ring (Epitaph Records)
  • Grouplove: Healer (Canvasback)
  • Honey Cutt: Coasting (Kanine Records)
  • Horse Lords: The Common Task (Northern Spy Records)
  • Huntsmen: Mandala of Fear (Prosthetic Records)
  • Inspired & the Sleep: Inspired & the Sleep (597186)
  • Jah9: Note to Self (VP Records)
  • Joywave: Possession (Cult Music Records)
  • JZ Replacement: Disrespectful (Rainy Days)
  • KHOST: Buried Steel (Cold Spring)
  • Louis Prince: Thirteen (Last Gang Records)
  • Mild Minds: Mood (Counter Records)
  • Monophonics: It’s Only Us (Colemine Records)
  • Nazar: Guerilla (Hyberdub)
  • Peter Bjorn and John: Endless Dream (PBJ Musik AB)
  • Porches: Ricky Music (Domino Recording Company)
  • Ruin Lust: Choir of Babel (20 Buck Spin)
  • SORAIA: Dig Your Roots (Wicked Cool Records)
  • Vundabar: Either Light (Gawk Records)
  • Yumi Zouma: Truth or Consequences (Polyvinyl)




Leave a Reply