New album releases this week: Bambara, Katie Gately, The Men, Psycho Comedy and more


The Weekly 7 – new album releases out today including Bambara, Robert Vincent and more

Roll on weekend and with it another stack of new releases as Getintothis’ Simon Kirk picks the best of the bunch.

Greetings, droogs.

There’s no rest for the wicked, we must say. New music, new music, new music. It’s getting to the stage where there’s critical overload for all things new.

Still, we are here to provide a gateway if you dare to pass through.

This week is shaping up as another strong one. Bambara‘s new release, Stray, will be very interesting as their debut album, Shadow On Everything, was such a winner on so many fronts.

There’s a few other hidden gems beneath, too. Moses Boyd‘s new album could be a thrilling experience, while Beach Bunny might be a sleeper to consider, with their brand of punk set to stir up the beast within.

Anyway, there’s plenty of poison to indulge in. Choose wisely and enjoy.

Happy Friday and have a safe weekend.

Unknown Pleasures #200 ft Julia Anrather, LUVRS, Another Sky


1. Bambara: Stray
Wharf Cat Records

New York punks, Bambara have been getting some decent play with BBC 6 Music and rightly so.

Many slept on the incredible Shadow On Everything (review here) and it seems their new album, Stray, is about to lift them into another layer of the stratosphere.

A Liverpool date has just been announced for August at Jimmy’s and the band will also be touring the country in May. More on that in due course.

Tame Impala

2. Tame Impala: The Slow Rush
Universal Music

Australian psych poppers return bringing their first album in almost five years with Slow Rush.

It will be interesting to see what Kevin Parker has come up with this time. We’re feeling a pop assault is forthcoming.

Kvelertak (photo credit: via the artists Facebook page)

3. Kvelertak: Splid
Rise Records

Norwegian metal shredders Kvelertak release their fourth album, Splid.

It’s the band’s first album since 2016 and the first with new singer, Ivar Nikolaisen. We’ve liked what the band has done in the past so let’s see how this one goes.

Crime and the City Solution’s Paradise Discotheque – a lost treasure by an overlooked band

Katie Gately (photo credit: via artist’s Facebook page)

4. Katie Gately: Loom
Hounds Tooth

Following remix work for Björk and Zola Jesus, Katie Gately returns with her second album, Loom, dedicated to her mother, who passed away in 2018.

If you dig the likes of Julia Holter, Dead Can Dance and Chelsea Wolfe, then this one’s for you.

The Men

5. The Men: Mercy
Sacred Bones

Brooklyn scuzzers, The Men release their eighth studio album Mercy via the great Sacred Bones label.

Having just toured the country we’re very much hoping the band return later this year once we’ve had a chance to digest this latest batch of ditties.

Psycho Comedy

6. Psycho Comedy: Performance Space Number One
Silver Machine Recordings

Local glam-punk odyssey, Psycho Comedy, release their debut album, Performance Space Number One.

Catch them at play Phase One tomorrow night. In the meantime, read our review of Performance Space Number One here.

Robert Vincent

7. Robert Vincent: In This Town You’re Owned
Thirty Tigers

Local songsmith Robert Vincent returns with perhaps his most political record yet,  In This Town You’re Owned.

The album was produced by Brit Award winning Ethan Johns (Paul McCartney, and Laura Marling).

Moses Boyd (photo credit: via the artist’s Facebook page)

This week’s other notable releases:

  • Beach Bunny: Honeymoon (Mom + Pop)
  • Luminous Bodies: Nah Nah Nah Yeh Yeh Yeh (Box Records)
  • Kennebec: Departure (Night Time Stories)
  • Aaron Diehl: The Vagabond (Mack Avenue Records)
  • Boniface: Boniface (Transgressive)
  • Caitlin Sherman: Death to the Damsel (Fat Beats)
  • Rejoicer: Spiritual Sleaze (Stones Throw Records)
  • Dennis Callaci: The Day of the Dead (Shrimper Records)
  • Le Butcherettes: Don’t Bleed EP (Rise)
  • Eden: No Future (MCMXCV LTD.)
  • Tami Neilson: Chickaboom (Outside Music)
  • Ella van der Woude: Solo Piano (Snowstar Records)
  • Riki: Riki (Dais Records)
  • Emika: Klavirni Temna (Emika Records)
  • Miguel Noya: Canciónes Intactas (Phantom Limb)
  • Frayle: 1692 (Aqualamb Records)
  • Euglossine: Psaronius (Orange Milk Records)
  • Justin Bieber: Changes (RBMG/Def Jam)
  • Grrrl Gang: Here to Stay! (Damnably)
  • Kidd Kenn: Child’s Play (Island Records)
  • Mo Troper: Natural Beauty (Tender Loving Empire)
  • Moses Boyd: Dark Matter (Exodus Records)
  • Personality Cult: New Arrows (Drunken Sailor Records)
  • Post Animal: Forward Motion Godyssey (Polyvinly Record Co.)




Leave a Reply