New album releases this week: Jade Hairpins, Erland Cooper, Pins, Inventions, Mrs. Piss and more


May ends with a bang as new releases reach a crescendo and Getintothis’ Simon Kirk shares this week’s top picks.

In short, it’s a stellar week for new releases.

The below list speaks for itself really, however there is plenty of great new releases that don’t feature in our top 7 this week.

Gaga fever is doing its best to overshadow the corona virus, while Leeds punk outfit Three MVPS also release their debut album, which was produced by Bob Weston. So, too, The Howl In The Hum which rounds off the local new releases this week.

Anyway, we implore readers to get greedy this week. There’s plenty to feast on so there will be no judging whatsoever from our point of view. We intend to do the same.

And with that we shall bid you farewell. We’re not feeling very talkative this week, instead stepping aside to let the music do the talking.

Enjoy your weekend and stay safe.

This week’s top selections.

Warmduscher interview: “With phones and social media, it’s like society is built for this situation”

Jade Hairpins

1. Jade Hairpins: Harmony Avenue
Merge Records

Fucked Up‘s Jonah Falco and Mike Haliechuk team up for their much-anticipated debut as Jade Hairpins.

Harmony Avenue picks up where Fucked Up‘s brilliant Dose Your Dreams left off, brimming with real time pop sensibilities that provide fun for all the family.

Read our review of the first ever Jade Hairpins show here.

Erland Cooper

2. Erland CooperHether Blether

Getintothis fave, Erland Cooper, returns with his third and final album in a trilogy of releases shaped by the islands where he grew up with Hether Blether.

The album follows-up the Scottish contemporary composer and multi-instrumentalist’s brilliant 2019 offering, Sule Skerry.

We spoke to Cooper earlier this year, who you can read all about here.


3. Inventions: Continuous Portrait
Temporary Residence

Eluvium’s Matthew Robert Cooper and Explosions in the Sky’s Mark T. Smith team up once again as Inventions to deliver their third album, Continuous Portrait.

If the singles are anything to go by, then we’re in for a real treat here, folks. Ambient heads, rejoice.

Mrs. Piss

4. Mrs. Piss: Self-Surgery
Sargent House

And the best band name of the year goes to… yes, Mrs. Piss. A collaboration between the brilliant Chelsea Wolfe and Jess Gowrie who release their debut album, Self-Surgery.

To be honest, we’ve not read any press about this collaboration or record. Remember those times where you just wanted to go in blind and be wowed? Well, this is one of those moments.

The 1975’s Notes On A Conditional Form: their most explorative, diverse and honest work to date

5. Deerhoof: Future Teenage Cave Artists
Joyful Noise Recordings

It’s always a good day when Deerhoof release new music and today they bring us their latest long-player, Future Teenage Cave Artists.

Expect more oddball DIY indie-rock jams right here. Greg Saunier‘s drumming is worth the listen alone.

6. PINS: Hot Slick
Haus of Pins

Manchester post-punk collective, Pins, return with third full-length album, Hot Slick.

Released via their own Haus of Pins label, Hot Slick is jam packed with wild synths, sprawling guitars, and a slew of melodies. There’s no disappointment here, folks.

Nicole Atkins (photo credit: via the artist’s Facebook page)

7. Nicole Atkins: Italian Ice
Single Lock Records

New Jersey born singer-songwriter, Nicole Atkins, returns with her latest album Italian Ice, which was recorded at the historic Muscle Shoals Sound Studio in Sheffield, Alabama.

Atkins drafted in an array of talent for Italian Ice, including Jim Sclavunos and Dave Sherman (Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds), Carl Broemel (My Morning Jacket) and Hamilton Leithauser  (The Walkmen).

Lady Gaga

The best of the rest this week:

  • Lady Gaga: Chromatica (Interscope)
  • Thee MVPs: Science Fiction (Eeasy Records)
  • Varsity: Fine Forever (Run for Cover Records)
  • The Howl and and the Hum: Human Contact (The Howl and The Hum Records)
  • Psychic Markers: Psychic Markers (Bella Union)
  • Seer Believer: Bent (Memory Music)
  • Mild Orange: Mild Orange (Mild Orange)
  • 2nd Grade: Hit to Hit (Double Double Whammy)
  • Applescal: Diamond Skies (Atomnation)
  • Bad Moves: Untenable (Don Giovanni Records)
  • Benjamin Moussay: Promontoire (Challenge Records)
  • Bleed From Within: Fracture (Century Media Records)
  • BLUT: Hermeneutics (Ausr Digital)
  • Christian Lee Hutson: Beginners (ANTI‐)
  • Creeper: Sex, Death & The Infinite Void (Roadrunner Records)
  • Daughters of Reykjavik: Soft Spot (Shrimp Records)
  • Dead Visions: A Sea of Troubles (Slimer Records)
  • Derek King: Let’s Be Honest (DIPLO)
  • Grave Digger: Fields of Blood (Napalm Records)
  • Greg Fox: Contact vis (RVNG Intl)
  • Hania Rani: Home (Gondwana Records)
  • Hayfitz: Capsules (Northern Transmissions)
  • Hayley Thompson-King: Sororicide (Hard To Kill Records)
  • HEADS.: PUSH (Glitterhouse Records)
  • Holy Hive: Float Back to You (Big Crown Records)
  • Jaime Wyatt: Neon Cross (New West Records)
  • Kevin P. Gilday & The Glasgow Cross: Pure Concrete (Iffy Folk Records)
  • Lesser Glow: Nullity (Pelagic Records)
  • Many Blessings: Emanation Body (Translation Loss Records)
  • Marin Patenaude: Sight Unseen ( Still Records)
  • The Memories: Pickles & Pies (Axis Mundi Records)
  • Meryem Aboulouafa: Meryem (Animal 63)
  • Nat Vazer: Is This Offensive and Loud? (Hotel Motel)
  • Nicholas Merz: God Won’t Save You, But I Will (Agoo)
  • No Trend: Teen Love / Too Many Humans (No Trend Records)
  • Painted Zeroes: When You Found Forever (Don Giovanni Records)
  • The Reflectors: First Impression (Burger Records)
  • School of X: Armlock (Tambourhinoceros)
  • Sébastien Tellier: Domesticated (Record Makers)
  • Starless: Earthbound (Last Night From Glasgow)
  • Sweet Spirit: Trinidad (Merge Records)
  • Sweet Whirl: How Much Works! (Chapter Music)





Leave a Reply