The GIT Award 2015 winner to be announced at Kazimier spectacular tonight

The specially commissioned GIT AWARD 2015 trophy.

The specially commissioned GIT AWARD 2015 trophy and nominee moments designed by ArchiPhonic.

With the winner of the GIT Award set to be announced tonight, Getintothis’ Adam Lowerson looks ahead to a spectacular night at the Kazimier Aztec Jungle.

The GIT Award 2015 winner is set to be announced tonight (April 4) at a ceremony at the Kazimier, which will be transformed into an Aztec Jungle in a night filled with live performances and spectacular visuals as well as a few surprises.

The winner will be selected from a shortlist of 12 Merseyside music talents who include All We AreCirca WavesD R O H N EGulfHooton Tennis ClubRoxanne JonesLåpsleyEsa ShieldsSundownersXam VoloJane Weaver and We Are Catchers. Nine out of the twelve shortlisted acts are set to perform live on the night.

Also performing will be the Kirkby rock and roller Louis Berry, who was this week revealed as the winner of the GIT Award 2015 One to Watch prize, following on from the success of Låpsley in 2014 who went on to sign to XL Recordings and was featured on the BBC Sound of 2015 shortlist.

This year’s shortlist was selected by national industry figureheads consisting of Bella Union Records’ Simon RaymondeThe Quietus editor John DoranHeavenly Recordings’ boss Jeff BarrettUK Music’s Dot Levine, author and journalist Simon Price4AD Records’ Rich WalkerClash Magazine editor Robin Murray, Jarri Van der Haegen, editor of Belgian buzz blog Disco NaiveteXFM deputy programme manager Mike Walsh and Amazing Radio’s Shell Zenner.

The judging panel was completed by respected Merseyside music players including Liverpool Music Week director Mike DeaneArts Club manager Victoria Smith, Sound City and Club EVOL promoter Steve MillerLiverpool International Music Festival curator Yaw Owusu, Bido Lito! editor Christopher Torpey – and GIT Awardfounder and Liverpool Echo journalist, Peter Guy.

The special Inspiration Award will also be revealed at the ceremony, recognising services to Liverpool’s music industry. In the past the award has gone to Africa Oye (2014), Hillsborough Justice Collective (2013) and The Kazimier(2012).

Hosting the event will be Impropriety, Liverpool’s most popular improvisational comedy group. Also on the night will be the spectacular Batala drummers, Arkopsy’s in-house jam band and the Krukthrust DJs.

All awards on the night plus unique commemorative mementoes for all 12 nominees will be created by Liverpool design agency ArchiPhonic while Liverpool Craft Beer will provide refreshments.

The GIT Award, which is now in its fourth year, has previously been won by Forest Swords (2014), Baltic Fleet (2013) and Loved Ones (2012). This year’s event was launched at a 24 Kitchen Street showcase featuring performances Chemistry Lane, Queen Maud, V e e d, and the inaugural One to Watch winner Lapsley.